Solutions articulaires : coude

Le coude est une articulation complexe qui implique trois os : l'humérus, le cubitus et le radius. Si l'un de ces os se développe anormalement (dysplasie du coude), son articulation n'est plus physiologique, ce qui entraîne une concentration défavorable des forces et des dommages conséquents au cartilage et aux autres tissus de l'articulation. Nous diagnostiquons la dysplasie du coude le plus souvent chez les chiens de grande taille et géants, souvent bilatéralement chez jusqu'à 80% des chiens d'une race particulière (bouviers bernois, bergers allemands et Golden Retrievers).

La dysplasie du coude est un terme générique pour les conditions suivantes : 

  1. Processus fragmenté Coronoideus – FCP/MCD
  2. Processus anconé non uni – UAP
  3. Ostéochondrose
  4. Incongruité articulaire

Le traitement dépend de l'âge de l'animal. 

Sur les chiens âgés d'environ quatre mois, les chirurgiens pratiquent souvent une ostéotomie distale du cubitus (DUO), une ostéotomie proximale du cubitus oblique (PUO) et une ostéotomie proximale du radius oblique/d'allongement. La décision concernant la méthode à utiliser dépendra de la gravité et des combinaisons de conditions.

Une fois qu'un patient atteint la maturité squelettique à un an ou plus, le retrait d'un fragment apportera un bénéfice temporaire, mais la boiterie réapparaîtra et la progression de la maladie persistera.

La procédure d'ostéotomie d'abduction ulnaire proximale (PAUL) a été la plus efficace chez les patients qui reçoivent un traitement avant la progression avancée de la maladie. Pourtant, les patients plus âgés voient également un avantage, généralement une amélioration d'un à deux degrés de boiterie. 

Le stade terminal de la maladie nécessite une arthroplastie du coude.

 

 
 
Date Événement Emplacement


French
Powered by TranslatePress »

Joint Solutions: Elbow

The elbow is a complex joint that involves three bones – humerus, ulna and radius. If one of these bones develops abnormally (elbow dysplasia), their articulation is not physiological anymore, which leads to an unfavorable concentration of forces and consequent damage of cartilage and other tissue in the joint. We diagnose elbow dysplasia most commonly in large and giant dogs, often bilaterally in up to 80% of the dogs of a particular breed (Bernese Mountain Dogs, German Shepherds, and Golden Retrievers).

Elbow dysplasia is an umbrella term for the following conditions: 

  1. Fragmented Processus Coronoideus – FCP/MCD
  2. Ununited anconeal process – UAP
  3. Osteochondrosis
  4. Joint incongruity

The treatment depends on the age of the animal. 

On dogs that are approximately four months old, surgeons often perform Distal Ulna Osteotomy (DUO), Proximal Ulna Oblique Osteotomy (PUO) and Proximal Radius Oblique/Lengthening Osteotomy. The decision concerning which method to use will depend on the severity and combinations of conditions.

Once a patient is skeletally mature at one year or older, a fragment removal will provide a temporary benefit, but lameness will return, and progression of the disease will persist.

Proximal Abducting Ulnar Osteotomy (PAUL) procedure has been most effective in patients who receive treatment before the advanced progression of the disease. Still, older patients also see a benefit, typically an improvement of one to two grades of lameness. 

The end-stage of the disease requires elbow joint replacement.

 



Digital Education Platform

A platform allowing for continuous education of veterinary professionals, download of materials and exchange between professionals.

Coming soon

KYON Symposium

An international event, where veterinary professionals share what’s new in the field and exchange tricks and tips, reflect and review successful and adverse cases, and develop relationships across the globe.

Register now for free